January

Scheduled Maintenance - ProQuest

Fri. Jan. 29, 2021 10:45 AM
ProQuest will be performing a scheduled maintenance on Sunday, January 31, 2021 from 3:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.  We apologize for any... Read More


Springer/Nature - access issues - RESOLVED

Fri. Jan. 22, 2021 10:45 AM
The University of Winnipeg is currently experiencing issues with accessing Springer/Nature content. We are aware of this issue, and it has been... Read More


Course Reserves Maintenance

Mon. Jan. 18, 2021 12:00 AM
The Ares Course Reserves System will be unavailable from 7:00 AM – 10:00 AM on Wednesday, January 20 and from 8:00 PM... Read More


New Copyright & Scholarly Communications Librarian

Mon. Jan. 18, 2021 12:00 AM
The UWinnipeg Library is pleased to welcome Heather Saunders to the Library team. Heather will be filling the role of Copyright and Scholarly... Read More


Borrowing requirements - University ID

Sun. Jan. 17, 2021 10:45 AM
A University of Winnipeg ID card is required to borrow materials from the library.  Due to current COVID 19 restrictions, an updated... Read More


Library Chat Offline - RESOLVED

Fri. Jan. 15, 2021 12:00 AM
UPDATE: This issue has been resolved. Please be advised that we are experiencing technical difficulties with the Library's online... Read More


February

#FairDealingWeek Bootcamp

Fri. Feb. 19, 2021 10:45 AM
Want to be more confident about copyright? This week is Fair Dealing Week, and the UWinnipeg Library invites members of the community to take part... Read More


Dan's Discovery Dives #4

Thu. Feb. 18, 2021 12:00 AM
Each month, our Collections Assistant Daniel Mathen explores a UWinnipeg collections story that is noteworthy, unique, or obscure. A full... Read More


Criterion website/database - access issues - RESOLVED

Tue. Feb. 9, 2021 10:45 AM
UPDATE: This issue has been resolved. The University of Winnipeg is currently experiencing issues with accessing Criterion... Read More


Trial eResource - Ethnologue: languages of the world

Mon. Feb. 8, 2021 10:45 AM
There is currently a trial going on for Ethnologue: languages of the world  Ethnologue: languages of the world is an encyclopedic... Read More


SciFinder-n Upgrade

Sun. Feb. 7, 2021 10:45 AM
As part of our SciFinder annual renewal, the Library has upgraded Scifinder-n. All users can access SciFinder-n in the Database list here:... Read More


Early Career Researcher Day

Thu. Feb. 4, 2021 10:45 AM
Event Program: docs/ecrd2021program.pdf Location:   Virtual (Zoom)  Date &... Read More


Black History Spotlight

Thu. Feb. 4, 2021 12:00 AM
February is usually the time when we would present a selection of Black History titles on our display shelf in the Library. To help... Read More


March

Weekly update - March 31

Wed. Mar. 31, 2021 10:25 AM
Library Closure – Good Friday The Library will be (virtually) closed this Friday, April 2. Services will resume on Monday, April 5,... Read More


Understanding the Tri-Agency RDM Policy

Thu. Mar. 25, 2021 10:15 AM
The Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) and the Social Sciences... Read More


Weekly Update: March 24

Wed. Mar. 24, 2021 10:45 AM
Requesting borrowed material Automatic recalls continue to be disabled as the library cannot safely require and/or guarantee the return of material... Read More


Indigenous Engagement Librarian Candidate Presentations

Fri. Mar. 19, 2021 10:45 AM
The Library extends an invitation to attend public presentations by candidates for the position of Indigenous Engagement Librarian. Presentations... Read More


Weekly Update: March 17

Wed. Mar. 17, 2021 10:45 AM
Big Red's Down Time The Smart lockers will be out of service on Friday, March 19 between 9 a.m. and 11:30 a.m – make sure to... Read More


Weekly Update: March 10

Wed. Mar. 10, 2021 10:00 AM
Big Red’s Hours While the Library Smart Locker is accessible 8:00 am to 6:00 p.m. from Sunday to Saturday, staff are only... Read More


Weekly Update: March 3

Wed. Mar. 3, 2021 10:45 AM
Issues With Nexus Course Reserves? Course instructors who are experiencing difficulty with the course reserves system (Ares) inside of Nexus should... Read More


April

Weekly Update - April 28

Wed. Apr. 28, 2021 10:20 AM
Upcoming EBSCO platform disruption During the week of May 5 - 12, 2021, key pieces of the Library’s EBSCO... Read More


Weekly Update - April 21

Wed. Apr. 21, 2021 10:45 AM
Library Item Renewals Library materials currently checked out to patrons will be automatically renewed this week ahead of the April 30 due date,... Read More


Weekly update - April 14

Wed. Apr. 14, 2021 10:45 AM
New Off-Campus Library Access page Now that all the issues are fixed, the Library has a redesigned Off-Campus Library Access page! This replaces... Read More


Off-Campus Access Error (resolved)

Tue. Apr. 13, 2021 10:45 AM
Resolved morning of 2021-04-14 We are currently experiencing an issue with our new "Off-Campus Library Access" proxy login page. Library... Read More


Weekly update - April 7

Wed. Apr. 7, 2021 10:45 AM
Spring Course Reserves Deadline To ensure course reserves are available to students on time, all materials for Spring courses should be submitted... Read More


May

Library Closure - Victoria Day

Fri. May. 21, 2021 10:45 AM
Library services will be closed on Monday, May 24. Services will resume on Tuesday, May 25. Read More


Research Data Management Week

Tue. May. 18, 2021 10:30 AM
Join us June 7–11 for RDM Week! With the release of the Tri-Agency RDM Policy comes new requirements for researchers around the... Read More


Course Reserves Maintenance

Tue. May. 18, 2021 10:25 AM
The Ares Course Reserves System will undergo scheduled maintenance from 8:00 – 11:00 PM on Tuesday, May 25. During this time period,... Read More


Provincial Restriction Notice

Mon. May. 10, 2021 10:45 AM
Library services remain unaffected by the most recent changes to provincial COVID-19 restrictions. Pickup Service and Scan On... Read More


Spring Course Reserves Deadline

Thu. May. 6, 2021 10:45 AM
To ensure course reserves are available to students on time, all materials for Spring courses should be submitted at least two weeks before the... Read More


Launch of “Copyright at the University.”

Mon. May. 3, 2021 10:45 AM
We're pleased to announce the launch of a new educational video about copyright in Nexus. Produced by Media Services and the... Read More


June

Library Closure - Canada Day

Wed. Jun. 30, 2021 9:45 AM
Pickup and staffed services will be unavailable Wednesday, July 1, 2021 as campus is closed for the Canada Day holiday. Service will resume on... Read More


Ovid Visible Body Maintenance

Tue. Jun. 29, 2021 8:00 AM
Ovid Visible Body will be undergoing some upgrades on Wednesday, June 30, 2021. The down time is scheduled to begin at 7:00 a.m. and is expected to... Read More


Scheduled Maintenance - ProQuest

Mon. Jun. 21, 2021 8:06 AM
ProQuest will be performing a scheduled maintenance on Saturday, June 26, 2021 from 2:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.  As a... Read More


Network Outage Reminder

Fri. Jun. 18, 2021 8:00 AM
The following library services will be unavailable due to planned system maintenance from 8pm Friday, June 18 until the morning of Monday, June... Read More


Smart Lockers Unavailable on Friday

Tue. Jun. 15, 2021 10:05 AM
There is a planned campus network outage beginning Friday, June 18, 2021at 4:30 p.m. It is expected to last until approximately 9:00... Read More


Course Reserves Unavailable Wednesday, June 23

Mon. Jun. 14, 2021 1:15 PM
The Ares Course Reserves System will be unavailable from 7:00 – 10:00 AM on Wednesday, June 23 to accommodate an important software... Read More


Criterion on Demand Additional Maintenance

Thu. Jun. 10, 2021 5:45 PM
The Criterion on Demand database will be performing an additional scheduled maintenance on Monday, June 14, 2021 from... Read More


Research Data Management Survey for Academic Staff

Thu. Jun. 10, 2021 9:30 AM
With the release of the Tri-Agency RDM Policy comes new requirements of researchers around the planning and sharing of research data. In... Read More


Indigenous History Spotlight

Tue. Jun. 8, 2021 9:00 AM
June is Indigenous History Month, and in putting together our digital book feature, we cannot ignore the discovery at the former site of... Read More


Spring & Summer Course Reserves Deadline

Thu. Jun. 3, 2021 10:25 AM
To ensure course reserves are available to students on time, all materials for Spring and Summer courses should be submitted at least two weeks... Read More


Criterion on Demand Maintenance  

Tue. Jun. 1, 2021 10:45 AM
The Criterion on Demand database will be performing scheduled maintenance on Tuesday, June 8, 2021 from 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m,... Read More


July

Library Instruction for Fall 2021

Wed. Jul. 28, 2021 1:15 PM
To help acquaint students with the campus Library, as well as strategies for accessing and using scholarly information, course instructors may wish... Read More


Upcoming Library Catalogue Update

Mon. Jul. 26, 2021 9:50 AM
On August 3rd the Library catalogue will get a new look and additional features. This will provide clearer display of item availability and access... Read More


Free & Low Cost Course Texts

Tue. Jul. 20, 2021 10:00 AM
Are you looking for ways to make your course texts more accessible to students? Offering free or low-cost texts can greatly increase... Read More


Faculty & Staff Library Account Renewals

Tue. Jul. 20, 2021 8:00 AM
Please note that faculty and staff library accounts are set to expire on August 31 of each year; library staff normally manage account renewals in... Read More


Scheduled Maintenance - ProQuest

Mon. Jul. 19, 2021 8:00 AM
ProQuest will be performing a scheduled maintenance on Saturday, July 24, 2021 starting at 9:00 p.m. until Sunday, July 25, 2021 at 7:00... Read More


Fall & Fall/Winter Course Reserves Now Open

Mon. Jul. 12, 2021 8:00 AM
Submissions for Fall and Fall/Winter course reserves are now open. To ensure materials are available to students on time, requests must be received... Read More


Scheduled Maintenance - Taylor and Francis

Thu. Jul. 8, 2021 8:00 AM
Due to scheduled site maintenance, some functionality on Taylor & Francis online will be unavailable on Monday, July 12, 2021 between 12: 00... Read More


August

Workshop Series: RDM for Creative Arts and Humanities

Tue. Aug. 24, 2021 1:40 PM
Is your research focused on artistic or creative practices, anthropology, history, historic or cultural geography, languages, linguistics,... Read More


Print ILL Returning August 23

Mon. Aug. 23, 2021 11:50 AM
The Library has resumed processing requests for physical items through interlibrary loan as of August 23, 2021. Please note that many institutions... Read More


Library Reopening Information

Mon. Aug. 23, 2021 11:45 AM
On September 1st the Library will resume in-person services for UWinnipeg faculty and staff; service will be extended to students when... Read More


Scheduled Maintenance - Library Proxy

Tue. Aug. 17, 2021 7:30 AM
The Library Proxy Server will be performing scheduled maintenance on Wednesday, August 18, at 9:30 a.m.During this time, users may experience... Read More


Library Items Due August 31

Mon. Aug. 16, 2021 12:35 PM
Please note that the Library is no longer automatically renewing borrowed materials. Patrons are responsible for returning or renewing their... Read More


Library to Eliminate Late Fees

Mon. Aug. 9, 2021 7:00 AM
On September 1, 2021 the Library will switch to a term-based loan system, eliminating late fines for all loans except recalls and print reserves.... Read More


Fall & Fall/Winter Course Reserves

Mon. Aug. 9, 2021 6:55 AM
Course reserve requests must be received no later than August 15 to guarantee availability by the start of the Fall semester on September 7.... Read More


Library Closure - Terry Fox Day

Sun. Aug. 1, 2021 2:10 PM
Pickup and staffed services will be unavailable Monday, August 2, 2021 as campus is closed for the Terry Fox Day holiday. Service will resume on... Read More


September

Truth & Reconciliation Day - Library Closed

Tue. Sep. 28, 2021 8:00 AM
The UWinnipeg Library and all services will be closed on Thursday, September 30 in recognition of National Day for Truth and Reconciliation, which... Read More


InterLibrary Loan Disruption - RESOLVED

Wed. Sep. 22, 2021 8:00 AM
We are currently experiencing an issue with the Interlibrary Loan system whereby users may encounter problems placing requests both through the... Read More


Kanopy off-campus access issue- RESOLVED

Thu. Sep. 16, 2021 8:00 AM
The University of Winnipeg is currently experiencing issues with accessing Kanopy website/database content. We are aware of this issue, and it has... Read More


Sept 11 Systems Maintenance

Fri. Sep. 10, 2021 8:00 AM
The Library catalogue and associated resources will undergo planned systems maintenance on Saturday, September 11; access to some Library resources... Read More


RDM Webinar Series: Indigenous Sovereignty in Action

Thu. Sep. 9, 2021 8:00 AM
This webinar series, hosted by Kishaadigeh, (The Manitoba Network Environments for Indigenous Health Research) brings together expert... Read More


Update Your Barcode!

Fri. Sep. 3, 2021 8:00 AM
If you are a UWinnipeg faculty or staff member who has received a new or replacement ID card this fall, please email the new barcode found on the... Read More


RESOLVED - ScienceDirect Outage

Fri. Sep. 3, 2021 8:00 AM
We are currently experiencing access issues with Elsevier's ScienceDirect. The vendor is aware of the problem and working to resolve the... Read More


October

Thanksgiving Closure

Fri. Oct. 8, 2021 8:00 AM
The UWinnipeg Library and related services will be closed on Monday, October 11 for the Thanksgiving holiday. Normal services will resume on... Read More